2020-03-19 11:21:19

Shafaq News / State of Law coalition led by Nuri al-Maliki revealed on Thursday, a list of 170 MPs who refuse for Adnan Al-Zorfi to take the position of Prime Minister.

Al-Zorfi is facing rejection by Shiite currents close to Iran objecting his mandate outside its framework or what is known as the "largest bloc" accusing him of being close to America, and that the latter pushed for his candidacy.

However, an official at the American embassy told Shafaq News that the embassy respected the sovereignty of Iraq , the will of the Iraqis and did not interfere in the mandating selection mechanism of Adnan Al-Zorfi.

The spokesperson of the State of Law Coalition, Bahaa Al-Din Al-Nuri told Shafaq News, "The political blocs in al-Benaa alliance in addition to Wisdom bloc held a meeting two days ago announcing its official refusal of Adnan Al-Zorfi ."

He added that "al-Benaa coalition, as the largest bloc, demanded the President of the Republic, Barham Salih to disclose the mechanism on which he relied upon the assignment of al-Zorfi," noting that "the President of the Republic has passed the constitution and entered the country in a political crisis instead of being the protector of the constitution and law."

Al-Nouri pointed out that "Al-Benaa bloc, whose number exceeds 170 representatives - out of 329 MPs - refuse to assign Al-Zorfi and will not participate in his next government if it obtains the confidence of the Iraqi parliament."

Al-Benaa bloc is led by Hadi al-Amiri (on behalf of al-Fateh Alliance), Nuri al-Maliki (State of Law), Faleh al-Fayyad (Al-Ataa), Muhammad al-Halbousi (Iraqi Forces Alliance) and Khamis al-Khanjar (National Axis).

The President of the Republic, Barham Salih commissioned the head of the parliamentary "Victory" bloc and the former governor of Najaf, Adnan al-Zorfi, to form the new government within 30 days.

Al-Zorfi’s mandate comes after the failure of the political forces to reach an agreement on the candidate for prime minister, which indicates that Al-Zarfi will face protests in Parliament.

Al-Zorfi is the second official in charge of forming the government, after the former Prime Minister-designate Muhammad Tawfiq Allawi stepped down earlier this month after he failed to persuade the Kurds, Sunnis and some Shiite forces to give confidence to his cabinet.